Chapter 18: I’m different, but I’m not special.

“Hey, sorry about that. We didn’t check the attic when we were looking at the house…” Onyx mumbled nervously. 

 “No, it’s okay, I like bats. They’re different from many creatures,” I said. 

 Onyx is over thinking this, I’m fine. There was an awkward silence between us for a moment and I hesitated with speaking. I turned away from Onyx’s face and glanced towards the windows, it was dusk. The glimpse of light shone through the clear windows, it reminded me of Sapphire. Her eyes bright yet deep, the sparkling colour of sapphires, like the shining light in the dark. While Onyx’s crystal blue eyes, clear and crisp. As if, I could see through his eyes. I wondered what their parents looked like, attractive and stunning, like both siblings. 

“Do you want to stay, or should I drive you back home or something?” Onyx said a few minutes later.

“Actually, I want to go home, my parents will be worrying soon,” I said shortly. I knew my parents wouldn’t worry, they trust me. I wanted to go home and clear my mind. It has been a little overwhelming. There was still a pile of homework waiting at home, I seriously wonder how Onyx does it. 

He guided me to a sleek black matte car, picked up his dangling keys from is pocket, and started to drive me home. I looked at the evening sky and began to glance toward Onyx. I stared into the eyes of Onyx’s. Analyzing every inch of him, trying for him not to notice. I knew he saw me looking at him, he had a twisted smile, mischievous as ever.

Leave a Reply

